Available Scholarships & Awards

Departmental Awards & Scholarships

American Indian Studies Scholarships
The purpose of the fund is to provide financial support to students at the University of Minnesota Duluth. Students are eligible to be considered for this award if they are: a) attending the University of Minnesota Duluth; b) undergraduate degree-seeking students; c) studying towards a major or minor in American Indian Studies or Tribal Administration and Governance.

Neezh Odain Scholarship
. Awarded to undergraduate students studying towards a degree in American Indian Studies or Tribal Administration and Governance who are in good academic standing. 

Mike Munnell Scholar Award.  Michael Munnell was the first graduate to major in American Indian Studies at UMD. In the fall of 2012, the AIS Department established this scholar award in his name. Munnell is the drum keeper and lead singer of the MA'IIN'GAN Drum. The singers perform at dozens of events each year, including UMD's commencement ceremony. The scholarship is awarded to the student with the highest GPA within the Department of American Indian Studies.

The Wells Fargo Tribal Resource and Environmental Stewardship Scholarship will award five incoming students in the Master of Tribal Resource and Environmental Stewardship (MTRES) program $5,000 each ($2,500 per year).  This scholarship is for Fall 2024 incoming MTRES students. You must be admitted to MTRES before applying for this scholarship. 

Eligible applicants must be one of the following: an enrolled member of a federally recognized tribe; eligible for enrollment in a federally recognized tribe; recognized as a descendant of a federally recognized tribe; identified as American Indian by the Indian Education Act; or identified as Canadian Indian by the Indian Act RSC 1985, CI-5.  Respondents need to be signed in to a Google Account to apply by the deadline of July 1, 2024.  If all of your documents are not submitted by May 1 at 11:59 pm, your application will not be eligible for review.  Awardees will be selected and notified on or before July 15,  2024.