American Indian Studies

(Tribal Administration and Governance)

Art and Design

Department Head: Jennifer Webb (Art History)
Associate Head: David Short (Graphic Design)
Art Education: Alison Aune
Art History: Sara Blaylock
Studio: Joellyn Rock
Prin Ofc & Admin Specialist: Jane Ebersviller
Budget Officer: Rae Ann Johnson
Studio Technician: Freddie Parrella



Department Head: Aaron Boyson
Associate Head: Hairong Feng
Internship Coordinator (COMM): Brian Matuszak
Internship Coordinator and Program Director (JOUR): Jennifer Moore
Executive Office and Admin Specialist: Beth Matson

English, Linguistics, and Writing Studies

Department Head: Krista Twu
Associate Head: Chongwon Park
English BA Coordinator: Burke Scarbrough
Linguistics BS Program Coordinator: Chongwon Park
Writing Studies BA Coordinator: David Beard
College and Advanced Writing Program Administrator: Avesa Rockwell
Executive Office and Admin Specialist: Michele Larson

Geography and Philosophy

(Interdisciplinary Studies)

Department Head: Afton Clarke-Sather (Environment, Sustainability and Geography)
Associate Head: Jeanine Weekes Schroer (Philosophy)
Cognitive Science Director: Robert Schroer
Geographic Information Science (GIS): Laure Charleux
Interdisciplinary Studies Coordinator: Jeanine Weekes Schroer > Program Site
Executive Office and Admin Specialist: Bridget Park

History, Political Science, and International Studies


Department Head: Jeffrey Rop (History)
Associate Head: Cynthia Rugeley (Political Science)
African and African American Studies: Chang'aa Mweti
International Studies Director: Mary Caprioli
Museum Studies Certificate & Public History: David Woodward
PreLaw: Joseph Staats
Executive Office and Admin Specialist: Mia O'Brien


Department Head: Paula Gudmundson
Music Education: David Edmund
Facility Manager and Technical Director: Don Schraufnagel
Executive Operations, Recruitment Specialist: Dee Charles
Executive Accounts Specialist: Tabetha Almond-Brown
Executive Office & Admin Specialist: Callie Bruce

Studies in Justice, Culture, and Social Change

Department Head: Scott Vollum
Associate Head: Jennifer Jones
Anthropology Coordinator: Kathryn Milun
Criminology Program Coordinator: Jeff Maahs
Sociology Program Coordinator: Jason Torkelson
Internship Coordinator: Rob Weidner
Women, Gender & Sexuality Studies Coordinator: Devaleena Das
Office/Admin Service Supv: Debbie Rose
Executive Office and Admin Specialist: Andrea Sande


Department Head: Mark Harvey
Executive Accounts Specialist: Tabetha Almond-Brown
Principal Office and Administrative Specialist: Mary Jo Johnson
Marshall Center Technical Coordinator: Susan Kidd

World Languages and Cultures

Department Head and French Studies Coordinator: Dana Lindaman
Chinese Area Studies Coordinator: Weiqing Zhang
Cultural Entrepreneurship Coordinator: Aparna Katre
German Studies Coordinator: Kristen Hylenski
Spanish Studies Coordinator: Maureen Tobin Stanley
Executive Office and Admin Specialist: Lori Roberts

Campus Directory & Maps

UMD staff or faculty: UMD People Directory
UMD departments: UMD Department Directory
UMD map, buildings and halls: Directory

(updated August 2023)