Linda LeGarde Grover

Professional Title

In April 2012 Dr. Linda LeGarde Grover received the Albert Tezla Teacher/Scholar Award. This annual award is given to a person who has excelled in an exceptional and effective manner in bringing into the classroom a teaching style that emphasizes to undergraduates the worth of research in a learned discipline and the maturing impact scholarly activity has on the development of human attitudes and values.

Author Linda LeGarde Grover was named the recipient of the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize in 2011 for her debut short story collection "The Dance Boots." The Janet Heidinger Kafka award recognizes an American woman writer whose book-length work has been published in the previous year. Previous winners include Anne Tyler, Ann Patchett, Ursula K. Le Guin, and Toni Morrison, all of whom won the award before becoming famous for their creative work. "The Dance Boots" received the 2009 Flannery O'Connor Award and was published by the University of Georgia Press. Dr. Grover's manuscript "The Road Back to Sweetgrass" received the 2008 Native Writers Circle of the Americas First Book Award, and a collection of her poetry "The.Indian.At.Indian.School" was the 2009 Native Writers Series selection for publication by the University of Arkansas at Little Rock Sequoyah Research Center. For more information check out these articles:

University of Georgia Press: Announcing the winners of the 2009 Flannery O'Connor Short Fiction Award

American Native Press Archives and Sequoyah Research Center: The.Indian.At.Indian.School

Indigenous Voices Indigenous Symbols: Windigo presence in selected contemporary Ojibwe prose and poetry (pg 19)

Minnesota Historical Society: The Vermilion Lake Indian School: from assimilation to termination

New Releases:

"The Road to Sweetgrass" by Linda LeGarde Grover

Publication Date: September 2014.

Dr. Grover is a regular columnist for the Duluth News Tribune Budgeteer. See her recent column: Linda Grover: As we wait for our warriors to return